Special Interest Group No.5 - Mineral & Inorganic Crystallography
Copyright (C) 2011. All rights reserved.


Second SYNTHESYS Access Call

  • Print

The SYNTHESYS Office is pleased to announce the Second call for proposals under the European Commission's FPVI European-funded Integrated Infrastructure Initiative. SYNTHESYS Project funding is available to provide scientists (Users) based in European Member and Associated States to undertake short visits to utilize the infrastructure (namely the collections, staff expertise and analytical facilities) at one of the 20 partner institutions (see full list below) for the purposes of their research. The 20 partner institutions are organised into 11 national Taxonomic Facilities (TAFs). TAF Users will be hosted by a TAF staff member.

The 11 TAF institutions represent an unparalleled resource for taxonomic research offering: Collections amounting to over 337 million natural history specimens, including 3.3 million type specimens. Internationally renowned taxonomic and systematic skill base· Chemical analysis, molecular and imaging facilities. Proposals will be welcomed from high calibre researchers seeking access for short-term visits.

SYNTHESYS is able to meet the Users' costs for:

*Research related costs including: bench fees and consumables (including molecular biology at some TAFs).

See www.synthesys.info for more information or contact synthesys@nhm.ac.uk

TAF visits will be scheduled from December 2004 until January 2009. SYNTHESYS is a five-year project comprising two parts which together aim to create an integrated European infrastructure for researchers in the natural sciences.


The SYNTHESYS Partners are inviting applications from researchers based in the Member States of the EU: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom plus the Associated Countries of the EU: Switzerland, Iceland, Israel, Liechtenstein, Norway and Candidate Countries of the EU Bulgaria, Romania and Turkey.

Next Deadline: 18 March 2005